History of the President


When the APPF was founded in 1993, the President was elected by the Annual Meeting to serve for a three year term. The role of the President was to represent the APPF and Chair the Executive Committee.

The Hon Yasuhiro Nakasone was elected as President, and subsequently re-elected in 1996 at the 4th meeting, 1999 at the 7th meeting and 2002 at the 10th meeting.

At the 12th Annual Meeting in Beijing, China in 2004, Mr Nakasone resigned from the position of President. The Annual Meeting agreed to amend the Rules of Procedure to establish an Honorary President position, in acknowledgement of the Hon Nakasone’s significant contribution to the Forum over many years.

The amended Rules also changed arrangements for the President of the Annual Meeting to become a position appointed by the next host (to serve from May the year preceding the meeting until April following the meeting), rather than elected for three-year terms.

Presidency: changes in 2020

Following the death of APPF Honorary President, the Hon Yasuhiro Nakasone in November 2019, Japan proposed that the position of the President be revised at APPF28 held in Canberra, Australia in 2020.

The Meeting resolved to consider amending the APPF Rules of Procedure to provide for the new role of President, with the objective of having a single President to advocate for and advise the APPF.

It also resolved to:

  1. Appoint a President for the period until the conclusion of APPF29 in 2021, noting that the President shall serve in an advisory capacity and shall promote the role of the APPF as an international parliamentary forum;
  2. Request the President and the Executive Committee to:
    • investigate ongoing resourcing of the APPF;
    • review the relevant Rules of Procedure; and
    • report on both matters to APPF29 in 2021;
  3. Amend rule 12 to read:
  4. "The Chairman of the meeting shall serve as Chairman of the Executive Committee"; and

  5. Appoint the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Parliament of Australia, as the President in the first instance.

Promoting regional cohesion, understanding and cooperation